The Professional Design Competition will invite design professionals to present mixed-income and attainable housing solutions that embrace the local challenges, culture, values, and vision of Northwest Arkansas. Entries will be uploaded to the website at the end of the competition.

FEB. 3 – MAY 4, 2018



Record / 104 Southwest A Street / Bentonville, AR

Saturday, May 12: 10am to 4pm
Monday, May 14: 10am to 4pm
Tuesday, May 15: 10am to 4pm
Wednesday, May 16: 10am to 4pm
Thursday, May 17: 10am to 4pm



Nationally and internationally acclaimed design professionals will be invited to submit designs for a mixed-use attainable housing plan that includes live-work units on sites in Bentonville, Arkansas. The five-member competition jury will include Housing Northwest Arkansas Initiative Professor Anne Fougeron, FAIA, Fay Jones School faculty members and other national and regional housing experts. Competition awards totaling $50,000 will be made, and competition results will be published online and in print, and exhibited for public viewing. The ambition of the Professional Design Competition is to advance selected entries into design development and construction.



5468796 Architecture, Winnipeg, Canada

Bernheimer Architecture, New York, New York

Brininstool + Lynch, Chicago, Illinois

Bucholz McEvoy Architects, Dublin, Ireland

David Baker Architects, San Francisco, California

Digsau, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

el dorado, Kansas City, Missouri

Gray Organschi Architecture, New Haven, Connecticut

ISA – Interface Studio Architects, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Jarmund/Vigsnæs AS Arkitekter MNAL, Oslo, Norway

Javier Sanchez Architects & Robert Hutchison Architecture, Mexico City, Mexico & Seattle, Washington

Kennedy & Violich Architecture, Boston, Massachusetts

Kevin Daly Architects, Los Angeles, California

LOT-EK, New York, New York

Merge Architects, Boston, Massachusetts

Michael Maltzan Architecture, Los Angeles, California

MOS, New York, New York

NADAAA, Boston, Massachusetts

OJT (Office of Jonathan Tate), New Orleans, Louisiana

Onion Flats, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

OOPEAA, Helsinki, Finland

PAU Studio, New York, New York

Stanley Saitowitz | Natoma Architects, San Francisco, California

, Boston, Massachusetts

Works Progress Architecture, Portland, Oregon



Anne Fougeron, FAIA (Jury Chair)
Fougeron Architecture, San Francisco, CA 

Jeanne Gang, FAIA
Studio Gang, Chicago, IL

Marlon Blackwell, FAIA
E. Fay Jones Distinguished Professor of Architecture, University of Arkansas
Marlon Blackwell Architects, Fayetteville, AR

Brenda Anderson
Northwest Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Fund, Bentonville, AR

The Honorable Shaun Donovan
Former U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development (2009-2014)
Former Director of the Office of Management and Budget (2014-2017)
Harvard University Senior Strategist

Competition winners will be announced May 10, 2018



Student Work Final Review, 9-5pm, May 2, 2018

Competition Submissions Due, 5pm, May 2, 2018

Jury Review, May 4, 2018

Winners Announced, May 10, 2018

Public Exhibition Opening, May 10, 2018

Public Exhibition (Online & In Gallery), beginning May 11, 2018



Design Competition Winners Announced
Press Release


Site 1

Digsau, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania WINNER
View Design Entry

Bernheimer Architecture, New York, New York
View Design Entry

David Baker Architects, San Francisco, California
View Design Entry

el dorado, Kansas City, Missouri
View Design Entry

Jarmund-Vigsnaes AS Arkitekter MNAL, Oslo, Norway
View Design Entry


Site 2

Kevin Daly Architects, Los Angeles, California WINNER
View Design Entry

ISA – Interface Studio Architects, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
View Design Entry

MOS, New York, New York
View Design Entry

OOPEAA, Helsinki, Finland
View Design Entry

Utile, Boston, Massachusetts
View Design Entry


Site 3

5468796 Architecture, Winnipeg, Canada WINNER
View Design Entry

Kennedy & Violich Architecture, Boston, Massachusetts
View Design Entry

LOT-EK, New York, New York
View Design Entry

Michael Maltzan Architecture, Los Angeles, California
View Design Entry

OJT (Office of Jonathan Tate), New Orleans, Louisiana
View Design Entry


Site 4

PAU Studio, New York, New York SITE 4 COMMENDATION
View Design Entry

Bucholz McEvoy Architects, Dublin, Ireland SITE 4 COMMENDATION
View Design Entry

NADAAA, Boston, Massachusetts
View Design Entry

Onion Flats, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
View Design Entry

Stanley Saitowitz | Natoma Architects, San Francisco, California
View Design Entry


Site 5

Merge Architects, Boston, Massachusetts WINNER
View Design Entry

Works Progress Architecture, Portland, Oregon COMPETITION COMMENDATION
View Design Entry

Brininstool + Lynch, Chicago, Illinois
View Design Entry

Gray Organschi Architecture, New Haven, Connecticut
View Design Entry

Javier Sanchez Architects & Robert Hutchison Architecture, Mexico City, Mexico & Seattle, Washington
View Design Entry